Medi-Cal is a state-sponsored health insurance program that provides free or low cost comprehensive health care coverage to those who meet income guidelines.

Individuals may also get Medi-Cal if they are:

  • 65 or older
  • Blind
  • Disabled
  • Under 21
  • Pregnant
  • In a skilled nursing or intermediate care home
  • On refugee status for a limited time, depending how long you have been in the United States
  • A parent or caretaker relative of an age eligible child
  • Screened for breast and/or cervical cancer (Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment Program)

Your local County Social Service Department manages Medi-Cal eligibility determinations. To learn more or apply for Medi-Cal, please visit the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) website.

Individuals enrolled in Medi-Cal may also join a Medi-Cal managed care health plan. To see available managed care health plans in your county, contact your local county social services office or visit the Health Care Options website.

DHCS Medi-Cal Managed Care Health Care Options (HCO):

San Francisco County

San Mateo County

Santa Clara County


Medicare is a federal health insurance program for individuals with disabilities, End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), or individuals who are ages 65 and older. There are two main ways to get Medicare coverage. Individuals may apply for Original Medicare (Part A and Part B) or through a Medicare Advantage (Part C) plan. The total cost of Medicare depends on the individual’s choice of health care plan and Medicare parts.

To learn more or to apply for Medicare, contact the Social Security Administration (SSA) or visit their website to enroll online.


SSA Medicare Benefits: